Ratko Ćosić - lamentations of one programmer

utorak, 04.03.2008.

How to pass MCPD certificate (Windows developer track) ?

How to pass (still very actual and valid) Microsoft MCPD certificate and what you can expect in the exam, you can find here in the following post...

Additional information about the certificate and the required exams you can find on the official Microsoft site by clicking right here.

So basically, the story goes like that: Microsoft in this generation (Microsoft .NET 2.0) offers developer certificate with mark MCSD called Microsoft Certified Professional Developer (MCPD). Certificate 's got three tracks, depending on a kind of solutions he/she wants to deal with as a proud professional developer. For the classics there is Windows developer track, for fishermen there is Web developer track, and for enterprise-level developers (integrators) there is also Enterprise Application Developer. Since I'm gymnasium classico kind a dev, I've completed the Windows Developer certificate and done so without any major obstacles, and so will you.

How to climb on that hill of might?

In short, there are certain exams to be passed. The monsters are:

- 70-536: TS: Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 - Application Development Foundation,
- 70-526: TS: Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 - Windows-Based Client Development, and
- 70-548: PRO: Designing and Developing Windows Applications by Using the Microsoft .NET Framework.

Of course, Microsoft offers also upgrade exams (in two parts) for this certificate, but I skipped them (!?). The reason is because I'm dumb. Well, probably. But, I've found out that the preparation for this tiny itzi-bitzi upgrade lasts for just as the preparation of 'ordinary' exams, so I've decided to pass the cert 'from the ground up'.

There IS a certain logic behind the order by which I've passed those exams as well.
First, I've prepared generally myself for framework 2.0 by reading the exam preparation book 'MCTS Self-Paced Training (70-536)', which I've already reviewed in one of the recent posts. Then, I've entered the exam and passed it.
Further, I've read the book Windows Forms Programming 2.0, but I didn't read it by the covers but rather what I've found as interesting, and moreover, read the appendices in which you can find the differences between this and the previous versions of fw (1.1). Prerequisite for this was that I've already had MCAD and MCSD certificate for Windows .NET, so, I found it already very familiar.
And finally, I've studied hard by reading 'MCPD Self-Paced Training (70-548)', which I've been also reviewed recently. I entered the exam and passed with a little bit of luck.

How to pass the exam without sweat?

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

That reminds me on similar questions from series "how to loose weight without stop eating too much", or "your pounds get melted, and you sitting and watch TV set as usual", and so on. Of course, you can always get stiffed with different kinds of medicaments and treat yourself with electroshocks and liposuction, just as you can remember by heart all the answers from the braindumps. But the same question arises: Is it healthy?

Well, I also use the braindumps to 'sharpen my teeth' before the exam, and to make sure that I will not just fail it because some stupid reason like Microsoft loves to question some ridiculous questions in a most ridiculous way. So I read it. But, it should be enough.

Some things are overbolded and some are just swept away from the exam. Every exam has got its own pace and set of questions and way to check your knowledge. So, let me begin...

70-536 (framework 2.0) - passed with 965/1000

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Relatively easy exam after all. You can expect around 40 questions of different hardiness. It's about security, configuration, deployment. There are questions about serialization, xml, archiving the data. One question per topics as types, s, graphics, text. There are also about diagnostics, debugging and logging. Alltogether, solidly distributed questions amongs the different topics from the official exam preparation study guides, and mostly everything you can find the in exam prep book.

70-526 (forms 2.0) - made it with 860/1000

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

It was a little bit heavier than the first one, although I had relatively solid knowledge of the subject. Anyway, it's about messing around with the properties of forms, some controls, GDI+ methods. It has a few questions about printing and reports, data binding, background workeru, and different kinds of controls we use. I didn't know everything well, I admit, I should learn more and study it harder, because I do not use all the controls and properties in everyday life. But, it is feasible, so I passed.

70-548 (architecture 2.0) - hardly made it with 769/1000

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Gosh, that was tough. I must admit that I do not admire exams of this type and I hardly wait to get rid of them (as in the past). Alas, it was about five to six case studies which you have to read carefully and they generate only a few questions. The problem is that you have a vast of text to read (cca two pages of A4 paper size) and you have to be extremely cautious because some things are very important and they are hidden or not well described in text. You have to take lots of it into account when you give the answer. Most of it, there are lots of questions that are, I think, of subjective nature. Especially when it comes to, for example, the factors or effects on performance, happiness of a client, and such. Also, there are a few questions in which you have to drag and drop and order things to make a right data flow, order of development phases, etc. I say, it's hard to say that I really knew all the answers, I tried to answer it well. And yes, the braindumps are not correct. Definitelly. ;)

And that's it! I'm still waiting for my certificate on a paper with signature of Bill (of course, just printed one), but that is an issue lately, and it takes some time to receive it...

I hope I help you a little bit, guys.
Good luck on your exams!


- 13:15 - Comments (1) - Print - #

<< Arhiva >>

Creative Commons License
Ovaj blog je ustupljen pod Creative Commons licencom Imenovanje-Nekomercijalno-Dijeli pod istim uvjetima.